News and Events

Here we list the news of FMT

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>

April 13, 2017

Eredoctoraat Universiteit Aalborg voor Joost-Pieter Katoen

Op 7 april jl. heeft Joost-Pieter Katoen, deeltijd hoogleraar bij de vakgroep Formal Methods and Tools, een eredoctoraat van de Universiteit van Aalborg in ontvangst genomen.

Joost-Pieter krijgt het eredoctoraat vanwege zijn distinguished efforts in computer science.


Further information.

February 20, 2017

'Vici'-beurs voor Marieke Huisman

Marieke Huisman (CTIT) is hoogleraar Software Reliability. Zij ontwikkelt nieuwe technieken om steeds complexer wordende software betrouwbaar te maken en te houden.

Dankzij de Vici-subsidie van 1,5 miljoen Euro kan prof.dr. Marieke Huisman vijf jaar onderzoek doen naar betrouwbare software. Het maken van betrouwbare software blijft een grote uitdaging. Wanneer je programmeert, schrijf je eigenlijk instructies die te begrijpen zijn voor een computer. In het verleden werden deze instructies één voor één uitgevoerd. Tegenwoordig is het niet ongebruikelijk dat een computer meerdere series instructies gelijktijdig uitvoert. Dit vergroot de complexiteit van het proces en daarmee de kans op fouten of problemen. Huisman ontwikkelt nieuwe technieken waarmee zulke complexe stukken programmeerwerk gecontroleerd worden op instructies die fouten of conflicten gaan veroorzaken nog vóórdat je de instructies daadwerkelijk probeert uit te voeren in je productieomgeving. Op deze manier weet je of de programmeercode foutloos werkt, voordat je deze op de eindbestemming inzet.

De Vici subsidie is toegekend door de Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek NWO.

Further information.

November 11, 2016

Vincent Bloemen wins Best Presentation Award at the FM 2016 Doctoral Symposium

During the Doctoral Symposium of the 21st International Symposium on Formal Methods (FM 2016) in Cyprus, Vincent Bloemen won the Best Presentation Award for his paper titled 'Parallel Model Checking of ω-Automata'.

He presented ideas on how he attempts to improve the model checking procedure by investigating different types of ω-automata such as Büchi, Rabin and Parity, and developing efficient parallel algorithms for checking such automata.

Further information.

November 2, 2016

Thomas Neele wins Ngi-NGN thesis prize

Thomas Neele receives the Ngi-NGN Informatics Thesis Prize (2nd prize, for Computer Science and Information Science). This prize has been awarded by the KHMW, the "Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen". The prize of € 1000 will be awarded in Haarlem on November 28, 2016.

Thomas Neele graduated from Computer Science at the U Twente on a MSc Thesis "GPU implementation of partial-order reduction". He carried out is research at the Technical University of Eindhoven, under supervision of Anton Wijs (TU/e), Stefan Blom (UT) and Jaco van de Pol (UT). His research led already to two papers in major peer-reviewed conferences: ATVA'16 (Japan) and FM'16 (Cyprus).

Further information.

September 7, 2016

Vincent Bloemen wins Best MSc Thesis Award

During the opening of the academic year, Vincent received the award for the best master's thesis written at the faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Mathematics.

Congratulations, Vincent!


July 15, 2016

Alfons Laarman receives VENI grant

Alfons Laarman received a VENI grant from NWO for his research on parallel algorithms for depth-first graph traversal. His project belongs to 15% selected projects, and it is one out of 12 awarded projects in 'Physical Sciences'. From the NWO site:

Parallelism in depth 
Dr. A. W. (Alfons) Laarman (m), UT – Computer Science 
The fastest route through busy traffic, the correctness of complex digital systems and the analysis of social-media, or computer networks are all problems that are solved efficiently by “depth-first” search algorithms. The researcher will adapt all these algorithms at once to exploit modern multi-core computers: the future of computer science. 

Further information.

April 6, 2016

Marielle Stoelinga and Marcus Gerhold win best paper award at ETAPS 2016

During the Euopean Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice and Software 2016 (ETAPS'16) in Eindhoven Mariëlle Stoelinga and Marcus Gerhold win the EASST best paper for their paper titled 'Model-Based Testing of Probabilistic Systems'. 

Their work describes the testing process of systems that make use of probability and how to check whether or not they were implemented correctly.

Further information.

April 6, 2016

Results announced for the VerifyThis 2016 Program Verification Competition, co-organised by Marieke Huisman

VerifyThis 2016 is a program verification competition taking place as part of the European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software (ETAPS 2016) on April 2-3, 2016 in Eindhoven, the Netherlands. It is the 5th event in the VerifyThis competition series.


  • Best problem submission: Daniel Grahl, for suggesting "Strassen's algorithm", which inspired the matrix multiplication challenge.
  • Distinguished user-assistance tool feature: Alexander J. Summers and Malte Schwerhoff (Viper) for their support of quantified permissions.
  • Best student team (2x): Martin Clochard (Why3), Léon Gondelman & Mário Pereira (Why3)
  • Best team: Bart Jacobs (VeriFast)


More information:


April 5, 2016

Arnd Hartmanns wins GI/ITG MMB Dissertation Award

The GI/ITG Technical Committee of "Measurement, Modelling and Evaluation of Computing Systems" has awarded to Arnd Hartmanns the MMB Dissertation Award 2016 at the biennial MMB & DFT conference in Münster on April 5, 2016.

Arnd Hartmanns completed his Ph.D. with a thesis titled "On the Analysis of Stochastic Timed Systems" at Saarland University, Germany, supervised by Prof. Holger Hermanns. He joined the Formal Methods and Tools Group at the University of Twente as a postdoc in October 2015.

March 23, 2016

Wytse Oortwijn wins best IPA poster presentation award at ICT.OPEN2016

During the ICT.OPEN2016 event on 22 and 23 March, 2016, Wytse Oortwijn won the best IPA poster presentation award. The poster, titled "Static Verification of Message Passing Programs", covers ongoing work on the verification of distributed programs, jointly with Stefan Blom and Marieke Huisman.

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >>